7/27 Remote Learning Town Hall - Recording and FAQ

Dear District 97 Community,

On Monday night, District 97 hosted a virtual town hall to provide a brief overview of our remote learning plan for the 2020-21 school year and answer questions submitted by parents and guardians.

First, thank you to everyone who sent their questions to the district’s administrative team and joined us for the event. We understand that some parents were unable to access the meeting live due to the Zoom session hitting its capacity limit. We apologize for this inconvenience. A recording of the meeting is included below, along with a link to an FAQ document that covers the questions discussed during the meeting. We will also be looking into options to accommodate larger audiences for future virtual meetings.

We would also like to thank the panelists who joined us Monday to provide insight into our planning and what the remote learning experience will look like for families and students. A full list is included at the end of this email.

Finally, please know that our team will continue working through questions we have received regarding remote learning. We plan to update our FAQ document frequently over the next few weeks, and will share additional details about the 2020-21 school year as our planning progresses. Please continue to monitor your email for updates from the district and our schools.

Thank you for your patience, understanding, and ongoing support of our schools and the students we serve.


Dr. Carol Kelley

7/27 Town Hall Panelists

Dr. Carol Kelley, Superintendent
Dr. Eboney Lofton, Chief Academic and Accountability Officer
Michael Arensdorff, Senior Director of Technology
Felicia Starks Turner, Associate Superintendent of Education
Carrie Kamm, Senior Director of Equity
Amanda Siegfried, Director of Communications
Faith Cole, Director of MTSS
Donna Middleton, Senior Director of Student Services
Tracy Hamm, Director of Student Services
April Capuder, Brooks Principal
John Hodge, Irving Principal
Sarah Mendez, Hatch Principal
Patrick Robinson, Whittier Principal
Dr. Christine Zelaya, Holmes Principal
Seth Baker, Elementary Teacher
Hannah Boudreau, Social Worker/OPTA Co-President
Faith Harris, Elementary Teacher
Gina Harris, Climate and Culture Coach
Anna Kinnaman, Middle School Teacher
Laura Reeves, Special Education Coordinator
Michele Suedbeck, Early Childhood Coordinator
Arnetta Thompson, Elementary Teacher
Joseph Terry, Deputy Fire Chief - Emergency Medical Services and Infectious Disease Officer for the Village of Oak Park