Two Former D97 Middle School Students Named National Merit Finalists

Two former Oak Park Elementary School District 97 students have been named National Merit Scholarship finalists by The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Eva Homberger (Gwendolyn Brooks Middle School) and Jacob Arquette (Percy Julian Middle School) will be competing for 7,600 scholarships valued at more than $31 million. The seniors currently attend Fenwick High School.

Students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). The exam serves as an initial screening of about 1.5 million students each year. Eva and Jacob and the two other high school students placed in the top 1%.

The scholarship winners will be announced in the Spring of 2020.

The four National Merit Scholarship Finalists (pictured L-R)

Eva Homberger, Oak Park, Gwendolyn Brooks Middle School)
Joseph Zawacki, Oak Park, St. Giles Catholic School)

Jacob Arquette, Oak Park, Percy Julian Middle School)

Elizabeth Rogowski, Hinsdale, St. Isaac Jogues Catholic School)